Am Blessed

Gen 12:1-3
The Lord had said to Abram(Ibrahim), “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.

2 “I will make you into a great nation
and I will bless you;
I will make your name great,
and you will be a blessing.
3 I will bless those who bless you,
and whoever curses you I will curse;
and all peoples on earth
will be blessed through you.(paraphrased)
NIV
I claim this prophesy in Jesus name and it shall be my testimony in Jesus name

written by Ibrahim Gana Malgwi

Learn To Say I Love You Quick

After 21 years of marriage, my wife wanted me to take another woman out to dinner and a movie. She said, “I love you, but I know this other woman loves you and would love to spend some time with you.”

The other woman that my wife wanted me to visit was my MOTHER, who has been a widow for 19 years, but the demands of my work and my three children had made it possible to visit her only occasionally. That night I called to invite her to go out for dinner and a movie. “What’s wrong, are you well?” she asked.

My mother is the type of woman who suspects that a late night call or a surprise invitation is a sign of bad news. “I thought that it would be pleasant to spend some time with you,” I responded. “Just the two of us.” She thought about it for a moment, and then said, “I would like that very much.”

That Friday after work, as I drove over to pick her up I was a bit nervous. When I arrived at her house, I noticed that she, too, seemed to be nervous about our date. She waited in the door with her coat on. She had curled her hair and was wearing the dress that she had worn to celebrate her last wedding anniversary. She smiled from a face that was as radiant as an angel’s. “I told my friends that I was going to go out with my son, and they were impressed, “she said, as she got into the car. “They can’t wait to hear about our meeting.”

We went to a restaurant that, although not elegant, was very nice and cozy. My mother took my arm as if she were the First Lady. After we sat down, I had to read the menu. Her eyes could only read large print. Half way through the entries, I lifted my eyes and saw Mom sitting there staring at me. A nostalgic smile was on her lips. “It was I who used to have to read the menu when you were small,” she said. “Then it’s time that you relax and let me return the favor,” I responded. During the dinner, we had an agreeable conversation – nothing extraordinary but catching up on recent events of each other’s life. We talked so much that we missed the movie. As we arrived at her house later, she said, “I’ll go out with you again, but only if you let me invite you.” I agreed.

“How was your dinner date?” asked my wife when I got home. “Very nice. Much more so than I could have imagined,” I answered.

A few days later, my mother died of a massive heart attack. It happened so suddenly that I didn’t have a chance to do anything for her. Some time later, I received an envelope with a copy of a restaurant receipt from the same place mother and I had dined. An attached note said: “I paid this bill in advance. I wasn’t sure that I could be there; but nevertheless, I paid for two plates – one for you and the other for your wife. You will never know what that night meant for me. I love you, son.”

At that moment, I understood the importance of saying in time: “I LOVE YOU” and to give our loved ones the time that they deserve.

Moral Lesson- Nothing in life is more important than your family. Give them the time they deserve, because these things cannot be put off till “some other time.”
From Search Nigeria

written by Ibrahim Gana Malgwi

Education In Nigeria

Education in Nigeria

Education in its general sense is a form of learning in which the knowledge, skills, and habits of a group of people are transferred from one generation to the next through teaching, training, or research. Education frequently takes place under the guidance of others, but may also be autodidactic. Any experience that has a formative effect on the way one thinks, feels, or acts may be considered educational.
Education in Nigeria is overseen by the Ministry of Education. And the local authorities take responsibility for implementing policy for state-controlled public education and state schools at a regional level. The education system is divided into Kindergarten, primary education, secondary education and tertiary education.
The Universal Basic Education, UBE, came as a replacement for Nigeria’s Universal Primary Education.UBE system is 6-3-3-4 .The UBE involves six years in primary school, three years in junior secondary school,three years in senior secondary school, and four years in tertiary institution.
The importance of education to human beings cannot be overemphasized. Globally, education is considered as a human right that should be accorded to all human beings, in facts it was the reason why a lot of international human right bodies consider education as a fundamental human right. Education is critical to the development of countries. Most of the first world countries are technologically advanced, and they owe their breakthrough and successes in the field of science and technology to robust and functional educational systems. Think of Japan and China, USA and Germany – these are developed economies. Their automobile and electrical products find markets in Nigeria and other African countries. They earn much revenue by exporting their products and goods to other countries, which boosts their economies. Their thriving economies are driven by both the implementation of prudent economic policies and technological innovations evolved by their citizens. But technological breakthroughs and inventions are achieved by students where the educational systems are virile and functional. Here in Nigeria, mechanical engineers can’t repair their cars, not to talk of manufacturing simple tools. The economy is solely based on crude oil revenues. The nation’s inability to diversify the economy is intrinsically linked to its dysfunctional education system.
Problems facing Nigeria Education is that of responsibility and control, the conflict between the Federal, State and Local Government in the management of education at various level. Take for example, the control of primary education is neither fully in the hand of federal government, nor state or local government this a great barrier for effective educational development at basic level.
In Nigeria today, one should not be talking of unavailable teachers but instability. The unstable condition of teaching staff in Nigerian primary and secondary schools has drastically crippled the system. The question is why instability? the answer is that, the condition of service does not favour them to stay in the profession as such looking always for alternative. Another problem of Education in Nigerian schools today is the politicization of Education; which seriously affected the development of education. Today many educational institutions are opened and run in many states on political ground or other flimsy reasons. In Nigerian schools today admission in universities, colleges, polytechnics, monotechnics, secondary and primary schools are sometimes guided by politicians not academic performance. Parent today used their political offices or influences for the education of their children. A sensitive issue that crippled the development of education is the manner and the why the politician influence the recruitment exercise of teachers. Many people today are after securing job for their children just to have meal ticket not bothering whether their wards qualified or not. This has contributed to recruitment of many unqualified teachers in our schools.
Another problem facing Nigeria education is government’s budgetary allocation to education falls short of the UN stipulation. Due to paucity of funds, lecturers can’t access fund to carry out researches. Educational problems can’t be addressed when there is little money for running the sector. Some state-owned universities are utterly neglected and grossly under-funded. These institutions are better described as “glorified secondary schools”. Are their libraries well-stocked with the most recent books in diverse fields of study? Do they have enough lecture-halls that can hold students during lecture periods? Do they have teaching facilities, instructional materials and equipment for running some science-based courses? These are issues that impede the smooth transmission of knowledge from lecturers to students. Acquisition of knowledge by students can’t take place in schools where there is a dearth of facilities.

This is a critical issue, let us have your opinion on how to make our education one of the best in the world.
Source form the Internet

written by Ibrahim Gana Malgwi